Attitude of Gratitude — Day 2 : Community

Today I am grateful for community

Growing up in a small town. my family, teachers and fellow community members helped me to build a strong foundation and have positively impacted the way I move through life. They taught me that if I’m in need, to reach out for help. Conversely, they also helped me hone the skill of unconditional giving. When I sense that others are in need, I jump quickly at the opportunity to give back to the communities that have supported me through and through. From an early age it was instilled in me that a strong sense of community is paramount. I recall the words of a song we sand in elementary school vividly,

“What makes a community, is all of us together. Night or day –work or play– in any kind of weather, we’re all birds of a feather.”

From sports teams to marching bands, drama productions to community service projects, the notion of the collective was always emphasized. 

I have been so blessed to feel such a strong sense of community in the many different places I’ve lived. As my journey has unfolded before me, I have made communities of faithful supporters  and friends in Vermont, San Francisco, France, Morocco, Spain and most recently New York.

With all of the enormous transitions I’ve been making into my new career, I have felt so deeply grateful to the people in my life who have been there for me as cheerleaders and role models. Feeling so deeply embraced by all the different communities in my life, I am given the strength that propels me forward and has consequently been responsible for the enormous successes I have achieved. 

In the words of Tupac Shakur, “I am a reflection of my community.” 

When I look in the mirror I see so many things I am proud of. So many successes and achievements, so much growth and development. All of this is a result of the communities who have supported me during critical periods of life transitions.

Thank you for pushing me outside of my comfort zone, thank you for listening to me talk through my thoughts, thank you for the encouragement, thank you for the financial support, thank you for the infinite inspiration. 

Love, 

Lizzie

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

