Attitude of Gratitude–Day 27: N-om-ad

I don’t know how I made it through 26 days of gratitude without being grateful to the place I inhabit in the deep, dark enigma we call cyberspace. This blog has been one of the most surprising and delightful projects I’ve ever taken on. It has been a place for me to chronicle my travels, reflect on my life and grow as both a writer and a human being.

When I began this blog in August of 2011, I was preparing to move to France, and to live abroad for my first extended period of time as an English Assistant in a small French village. At that time, my blog was more for the people at home than it was for me. It was a way of letting my Mom and her friends know I was alive and for perhaps making some snarky comments on the differences between French and American culture.

By 2012, my blog started to become a place for me and my more academic thoughts, as I began to use it to make social commentaries on my new foreign home, Morocco. Here I found a place for me to carefully construct posts about Moroccan culture and identity. At this point, my blog developed into a space for me to hone my writing skills. Being recognized for my post, Mi-chemin; At the Intersection of Tradition and Modernity, by WordPress gave me a boost in my confidence, and ignited a passion for writing that I never knew existed. As my readership sky-rocketed I began to feel like my writing was reaching the far corners of the earth, and I knew that I was achieving what I always wanted, connecting with people far and wide, and sharing some of my learned wisdom on them.

When 2013 rolled around, I had soundly developed my social and cultural commentary, which lead to my spiritual growth spurt. In this time, my blog morphed itself into a house for my spiritual reflections. In the first three months post walking El Camino de Santiago, this blog became a crutch for me. It was the a place for me to purge all of the thoughts in my head into a word processor, and hope that said processor had caught each and every thought and transformed them into something cohesive. There were so many posts that came from the depths of my soul in that time, especially, Falling or Flying; Uniting the Yin and Yang of Life, which ultimately made its way into the Elephant Journal and solidified my quest into blogdom. This post was written as fast as my fingers could communicate with my head and my heart, and the result is something that I am incredibly proud of.

2014 started slowly, with blogs few and far between. My passion for writing remained, but my creative juices had become stagnant and I lost some perspective as I struggled to navigate a very vague transition with a very limited idea of my direction forward. At this time, my blog became a space where I could re-read and re-live. I was not creating, but I was living off of my creations. All of my thoughts, which had been so diligently saved in cyberspace, were easily a click away, and I often would revisit them in order to reap the boon of their wisdom. I also used them as a comparison from the then to the now.

My current project, Attitude of Gratitude, was taken on as my Lenten promise in order to reconnect with my Catholic faith, to get me back on track with my writing, and ultimately, to practice what I preach. These past few weeks have been unique and fulfilling,  as a result of the thanks I’ve offered daily. This blog and all of the gratitude I’ve expressed have helped me process an incredible life transition. These daily acts have increased my over all happiness and are steering me forward from this present moment into future present moments.

Thus today, I am grateful to my blog, N-om-ad, for it has provided me with a canvas to create my art, as well as a place to reflect and grow. I am also grateful to all of my readers; whether you are strangers, friends or family, thank you for taking the time to get to connect with me!  Fun fact:  N-om-ad has been read in over 110 countries and is followed by 333 (and counting) bloggers! And last, but not least, I am thankful to my ever changing life. Each day is a journey, and just as nomadic tribes navigate across deserts in search of fertile lands and watering holes for their herds, I, too, have been navigating across countries and, of course, across my soul–Can you keep up?

Image

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Attitude of Gratitude–Day 27: N-om-ad

  1. I have been umming and ahhing about starting a blog, and have yet to summon the courage to put my thoughts out into the big wide cyberworld (even though I have kind-of-half-started a blog page).
    Your Attitude of Gratitude post today has inspired me to make it happen, even if I’m only writing for myself, and no one else ever reads it. What you’ve expressed in terms of the benefits you have gained from writing your blog and cultivating the expression of your thoughts in this way sounds so appealing that I just have to take a leap of faith with myself and give it a try. Plus, you’ve reminded me that everyone has to start somewhere, and that it could take time to find my voice, and that’s ok.
    Thank you as always for your sharing.

    • lizguerra says:

      This journey for me has been incredible. Knowing you as I do, I imagine that chronicling your thoughts through any form, be it blog, journal ,art or whatever, would be highly beneficial! If you’re sharing, please let me know. I look forward to growing side by side and connecting with you through another platform,! Lots of love, Liz

Leave a Reply

