Attitude of Gratitude–Day 30: The Deep End

This week has been quite an interesting week of work, as it was my first real week acting as director. I’ve finally finished all my training and have been left alone to do what they hired me to do–direct. The reality of how much responsibility I have on my plate began to sink in as 5 o’clock pm rolled around, and today’s to-do list had no end in sight. There was no way I was leaving the office with a mere 8 hours under my belt, 13 was more like it.

I eventually left the office waving a white flag at the finance spreadsheets that thoroughly humbled me. I had to put my hands up and admit that I was tired, and that my brain would need to sleep before it could look at these numbers again. It looks like I’ll be in the office tomorrow as well, because a deadline is a deadline is a deadline.

Nonetheless, I’m grateful.

I’m grateful that today I got to spend some much needed time getting to know my staff.  I’m grateful that they seem to have a deep faith in my ability to “fake it til I make it,” and I’m also grateful to be in the middle of a total blizzard of new tasks.

It’s been a LONG time since I’ve been eyeballs deep in work, and I forgot how much satisfaction, fulfillment and growth I receive from working hard. Granted, today I feel a bit defeated by the finances, but I know that tomorrow when I go back to them, I will figure them out and all will be right with the world (fingers crossed!!!!!).

But most of all, I am grateful to be in the thick of it, because it means that I have a defined purpose. My work gives me a sense of fulfillment that I haven’t felt in a long time, because I’m experiencing an enormous growth spurt. I’ve had so much information thrown at me, and I’m swimming in the deep end. Though I might not be doing the butterfly crawl across the pool, I am certainly doing the caterpillar. In a short time, all of this new information will be digested, I’ll grow my wings, break free from my chrysalis  and fly.

Image

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Attitude of Gratitude–Day 30: The Deep End

  1. dcoughlan@comcast.net says:

    SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE! XO Denise Sent with Verizon Mobile Email

Leave a Reply

