Attitude of Gratitude–Day 40: Devotion

I’d like to stop and have a good laugh at the Lenten calendar, because I’ve written every day for 39 days….and it’s still not Easter. I’d get out my abacus and check again, but a quick Google search will probably give me the answer to this quandary faster.

According to the Catholic church, the devotional “giving up” of something for Lent is practiced 6 out of the 7 days week days. So for those of you who didn’t know, next year Sunday is fair game. Indulge away.

And while I initially made this promise to be “40 days Catholic,” I’m going to stick it out until Easter Sunday, because I feel attached to the idea of Lent itself, and writing about what I’m grateful for has become a devotional practice that I’m (thankfully) not sure I’ll be able to drop easily.

What started out as a commitment, has turned into a practice that has not only has gotten me through a challenging transition, but has also completely shifted my perspective on life. To be able to take even the toughest day and find something to be grateful for is a life skill. It’s something that I believe everyone should be equipped with. It’s a powerful tool to transform the negative into positive, because in doing so we are able to raise the level of consciousness around us. We need to start preaching gratitude to our children. Let’s create a generation that knows how to be thankful for what they have. If we can do this, we will heal our sick and greedy world.

Today I am grateful that Lent is not over after my 40 day commitment has expired, because it means I have another 5 days to in which I’ll be writing on gratitude. I’m also thankful to this practice for showing me a more enjoyable way to live my life!

Spread the word. What are you grateful for today?

Image

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

