Attitude of Gratitude–Day 12–Skype

One of the many marvels of our technological age is the ability to connect with people on an instant’s notice. Whether it’s by text message or whatsapp, Facebook or Instagram, I have the ability to remain connected and follow the daily happenings of the lives of the people I care about most.

And while it might seem unnecessary that I should know what someone ate for breakfast or how “good” they look in a selfie, I find that the internet helps me maintain and balance my relationships. Inevitably Facebook or Instagram will remind me that it’s been way too long since I’ve talked to so-and-so and it’s time for me to reach out via Skype, phone call or text message for a check in.

I’ve always been good about keeping in contact with friends, and it’s something I am quite proud of. Though I have friends in every corner of the globe, Skype and Whatsapp have permitted me to stay close with those who are so far.

Today I am grateful for Skype, but moreover, I am grateful for the conversation that it facilitated. I had the wonderful opportunity to chat with one of my soul friends, Nicola, today.

nicola

Nicola and I walked the Camino de Santiago together at the same time during the summer of 2013. We started on the same date and crossed paths many times. We had mutual pilgrim friends, but never got the chance to really get to know each other until we both hit our stride towards the end of the walk. We finished our camino, walking (well, I was limping) into Santiago together. Our connection was so deep, so real, so pure. I was devastated to say goodbye to her, but knew that she would be a part of my life for ever.

Today as we talked via Skype it was apparent that our connection had not faded with the passing of a year and a half. We are the kind of friends that when we talk, the passing of time doesn’t matter. Whether it’s been a week or 4 months since the last chat, we always pick up where we left off. When we do catch up we talk for hours about our lives. We share our triumphs and our trials and we give each other advice. We understand each other’s needs because we are very similar, and we are able to use our coaching skills to help reframe each other’s challenges in a way that is meaningful for each of us.

Gratitude hardly expresses how I feel today for this conversation. Being able to reconnect with such a strong, independent, thoughtful, beautiful and aware human being is food for my soul. So thank you so much Nicola for the lovely conversation, and thank you Skype for bringing Australia into my living room!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

